Gaming Mat’s.

Now that I’ve settled down into my new house I thought it was about time I bought a couple of 6 by 4′ gaming mat’s which I’ve been promising myself for awhile now. I scouted around the inter webs and decided to go for one from Frontline Gaming ( https://www.frontlinegaming.org )and the other from Deep Cut Studio’s ( https://www.deepcutstudio.com/ ).
I took them both down club tonight so I could get a good look at them and try one out, here’s some pictures and my thoughts.

The F.A.T Mat, Barren Wasteland from Frontline Gaming.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

This is a awesome produce in my eye’s, it is made out of the same stuff that mouse mat’s are made of, the image is nicely done, it lye’s well on the table with no movement, has a matt finish, movement trays slide across with no problems and when you roll your dice on it there is hardly any sound at all….sweet :O). Now this is a bit pricey at £59.00 plus £9.00 postage but you do also get a handy bag to carry said mat in.

The Steppe Theme PVC Mat from Deep Cut Studio’s.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

Close up.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

Now this mat is also good, its made of PVC and the image again is very good, there were a few minor issue though. First off it has a glossy finish so under strong lights you can get some glare when taking photo’s, also because it is stored in a tube when rolled out the ends can curl up a bit, I think a small blob of bluetac on each corner might solve this issue will try next time I use it. As for price this was quite a bit cheaper at £39.90 plus £9.00 postage but no bag, on the plus side the choice of theme’s is much greater than the F.A.T Mat.

All in all I’m very happy with both my purchase’s and would recommend both products.

Here’s a few more pictures of the Steppe themed one in use.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

Anyway that’s it for now.

Cheers, Steve.

This entry was posted in Cathaginians, EIR, Great War, WAC, Wargaming. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gaming Mat’s.

  1. Both look good and do the job. Is it me or does the second one have some kind of ’tiling’ effect going, that is, do textures repeat?

    • lurkusspleen says:

      Hi there,
      yes the pattern does seem to repeat on the second one, its a bit difficult to see in my photo’s but the pattern is gravel/stones and pail grass so fits really well with my basing, I now need to sort out some terrain to go with it……..I might even make some ;o).

      Cheers, Steve.

Leave a Reply

