The Tail of the Rampant Nelly, WAC.

Another week and another game of WAC with my Carthaginians, this time against Alan and his Macedonians. We had decided on 2,500pts armies and I had brought my F.A.T Mat along for it first outing.

Set up, Macedonians to the left (Alan’s Disco hands ;o) ), Carthaginians to the right.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

Close up of my chaps.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

The Phalanx’s face off against each other.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

My Militia clash with the Companion Cavalry, loss and are run down.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

My Numidian Elephant see’s off some of the Macedonian skirmishers.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

While all this was going on my other Nelly was misbehaving, first going rampant and smashing into my Veteran’s, then running off behind my lines. Then turning around and rumbling into my General and Army Standard causing them to flee straight in front of Alan’s battle line and then smashing into my Libyan Phalanx, holding them in place. He did then die but the damage had been done both my characters were dead and the Phalanx was charged and destroyed by two of Alan’s units………brilliant :0(. Things were looking hopeless at this point with my Vet’s left high and dry, they fought gallantly on but in the end were ground down. With this Alan revealed he was in position to capture the centre of the table with his Companion Cavalry which was his objective. With me only having a injured Elephant and my Balearic slingers left I was in no position to stop him so I offered him my hand and the game.

The end game.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

Well another cracking game against a good opponent, thanks Alan. Shame about the naughty Nelly but hey thems the breaks, here’s looking forward to next Sundays game this time against Mike and his Macedonians……..should be fun :o).

Cheers, Steve.

This entry was posted in Cathaginians, WAC, Wargaming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Tail of the Rampant Nelly, WAC.

  1. Alan Paginton says:

    Was a very good game Steve influenced to a great extent by the behaviour of one of your elephants. Whilst on the subject of elephants – back in the day when WRG were the only rules in town you had to write orders for each of your units at the start of the turn. Movement etc was simultaneous in those days. I came across a gamer with an Indian Army whose order to his elephants was “Nellie likes cream buns” which we all knew meant advance as quickly as possible and attack the enemy. Its funny how I can remember stuff like that but not where I put my keys!

    Alan

Leave a Reply

